Instructor: Emilie Antigny

Legal Notice   © 2019 by Shotokan Karate Club Genève.

SHOTOKAN KARATE

Japan Karate Association - Traditional School' Style

The father of modern karate

SUPREME MASTER FUNAKOSHI GICHIN

Originally, the martial art Te (“Hand”) developed in Okinawa as a system of self-defense. Due to Okinawa’s frequent contact and exchange with China, it is certain that the Okinawan martial art was influenced by Chinese kempo at some point during its development. However, with only oral tradition and no formal contemporary written records, it is not certain exactly when the art called Kara-Te first emerged in Okinawa. It is believed that it developed roughly 500 years ago, when the dynastic ruler King Shoha unified the region after decades of warfare and issued an edict banning the possession of weapons on the island.

 

According to conventional accounts, a similar law forbidding the possession or use of weapons was re-issued and enforced by the Satsuma clan, who had invaded Okinawa in the early 1600’s and brought it under the rule of the Japanese Shogunate. It is believed that in this environment karate developed as a form of unarmed combat for protecting oneself and one’s country, and it was taught and practiced in secret.

Then came the birth in 1868 of Okinawan karate master Funakoshi Gichin. He dedicated his whole life to promoting the values of the art, and introduced the way of karate-jutsu to Japan, where it spread across the country. In 1939, as karate-do (“the way of karate,” or “the way of the empty hand”) was gaining popularity, Master Funakoshi established the “Shotokan” dojo, which he built at his own expense. (“Shoto” was the literary first name he used when doing calligraphy and writing poetry. “Shoto” means “Pine Waves,” and refers to the sound of wind blowing through the pines, which resembles the sound of ocean waves.)

By 1949, his followers had established an association for the promotion of karate; they called it Nihon Karate Kyokai, or Japan Karate Association. It was the beginning of the JKA…

Instructeur: Emilie Antigny

Mentions légales  © 2019 par Shotokan Karate Club Genève

KARATE SHOTOKAN

Ecole de Style - Japan Karate Association

Le fondateur du karaté moderne

MAITRE FUNAKOSHI GICHIN

 

A l'origine, l'art martial Te ("Main") s'est développé à Okinawa comme un système d'autodéfense. En raison des contacts et échanges fréquents d'Okinawa avec la Chine, il est certain que l'art martial d'Okinawa a été influencé par le kempo chinois à un certain moment de son développement. Cependant, avec seulement la tradition orale et l'absence de documents écrits contemporains formels, il n'est pas certain exactement quand l'art appelé Kara-Te est apparu pour la première fois à Okinawa. On pense qu'il s'est développé il y a environ 500 ans, lorsque le souverain dynastique, le roi Shoha, a unifié la région après des décennies de guerre et a publié un édit interdisant la possession d'armes sur l'île.

Selon les récits conventionnels, une loi similaire interdisant la possession ou l'utilisation d'armes a été rééditée et appliquée par le clan Satsuma, qui avait envahi Okinawa au début des années 1600 et l'avait placée sous le règne du shogunat japonais. On croit que dans cet environnement, le karaté s'est développé comme une forme de combat non armé pour se protéger et protéger son pays, et il était enseigné et pratiqué en secret.

 

Puis vint la naissance en 1868 du maître de karaté d'Okinawa Funakoshi Gichin. Il consacra toute sa vie à promouvoir les valeurs de l'art et a introduit le karaté-jutsu au Japon, où il s'est répandu dans tout le pays. C'est ainsi qu'en 1939, le karate-do ("la voie du karaté" ou "la voie de la main vide") gagnant en popularité, Maître Funakoshi fonda le dojo "Shotokan", qu'il construisit à ses propres frais. ("Shoto" était le prénom littéraire qu'il utilisait pour faire de la calligraphie et écrire de la poésie. "Shoto " signifie " vagues de pins " et fait référence au bruit du vent qui souffle à travers les pins et qui ressemble au bruit des vagues de l'océan). En 1949, ses disciples avaient fondé une association pour la promotion du karaté ; ils l'appelaient Nihon Karate Kyokai, ou Japan Karate Association. C'était le début de la JKA...